The highest award CAV can bestow
Download Nomination Form

The CAV Honorary Fellowship is the highest award CAV can bestow upon a member for outstanding voluntary services to the Association and/or the Chinese community in Australia.

The Fellows have demonstrated dedicated service and leadership qualities in committee or community work and/or outstanding projects.

The success of CAV is due to the support and commitment of many dedicated members. This was recognized from its earliest days, and in 1995 CAV established a merit award system to recognize those loyal members who have made outstanding contributions to the Association. The late Dr. Robert Wong was Chairperson of the Subcommittee for Merit Awards from 1995-2003.

Susan Gin and Mimi Leung

The List of Honorary Fellows

Year AwardedCAV Honorary Fellows
2018Mrs Mimi Leung
2018Mr Paul Liew
2018Mr Martin Chiew
2017Mr Boon Chuan Tay
2017Mrs Shirley Teh
2017Dr Teck Hoe Thia
2016Mr Rex Lai
2016Mr Kenny Lau
2016Dr Chee Mun Leong
2015Mrs Sherilyn Yong
2015Mrs Grace Chan
2015Dr Brian Tyedin
2015Mr Vic Ngam
2014Mrs Elizabeth Tan
2013Mrs Evelyn Han
2013Mr Anthony Lun
2011Mrs Khim Chow
2010Mr Leon Han
2010Mr Simon Soon
2010Mr Lip Chye Tan
2010Mr Raymond Wong
2007Cr John So
2006Mr Vincent Chow
2006Mrs Lillian Lai
2006Mrs Lily Ong
2006Mrs Mai Fong Saw
2003Mr Ken Ong
1997Mr Steven Cheung
1997Mr Robert Chong
1997Mrs Ramona Chua
1997Mr Kelvin Kan
1997Mr Richard Ong
1997Dr Clement Wong
1997Dr Teong Soo Saw
1995Mr Kwok Kiu Cheung
1995Dr Frank Chew
1995Dr Ka Sing Chua
1995Mrs Chooi Hon Ho
1995Mr Peter Ho
1995Mr Yik Chee Ho
1995Dr Boon Hung Hong
1995Mr Alan Liew

Discover our heroes

Susan Gin (2018 Exco President) with Paul Liew

Susan Gin with Martin Chiew

Honorary Fellows Board

Any CAV member, except for the HF Board members and the CAV President, may nominate CAV members

HF Board: Ken Ong,  Mai Saw (Secretary), Leon Han (Chairman),
  Shirley Teh (Treasurer), Brian Tyedin, Vincent Chow

In 2005, it was decided to formalize the award to an Honorary Fellowship award system and the CAV Honorary Fellowship Advisory Board was established by EXCO in September 2005. The foundation CAVHF Advisory Board comprised of Chooi Hon Ho OAM (Chair), Frank Chew OAM, Peter Ho, Richard Ong and Clement Wong. In accordance with HF Board rules, new members were appointed to the Advisory Board to replace retiring members.

At the 2015 AGM, to further streamline the process, the Honorary Fellowship Advisory Board (HFAB) was changed to the Honorary Fellows Board (HFB). Any CAV member, except for the HF Board members and the CAV President, may nominate CAV members. The revised Board and the CAV President will assess the Honorary Fellows nominees and recommend successful nominees for endorsement by the CAV members at the AGM.

Nominations for the Honorary Fellowship Awards are welcome from any CAV Financial Member at any time and must be received no later than 31st August for an award in the following year. The completed form should be forwarded to the Secretary of the CAV Executive Committee.

Gallery Of Recent CAV Fellows